Free access to breaking news is sponsored by St Anthony's Hospital

In 1787, the first of the Federalist Papers, a series of essays calling for ratification of the United States Constitution, was published.

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Today is Monday, Oct. 25, the 298th day of 2021. There are 67 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Oct. 23, the 296th day of 2021. There are 69 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Oct. 22, the 295th day of 2021. There are 70 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Oct. 20, the 293rd day of 2021. There are 72 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Oct. 20, the 293rd day of 2021. There are 72 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Oct. 18, the 291st day of 2021. There are 74 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Oct. 16, the 289th day of 2021. There are 76 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Oct. 15, the 288th day of 2021. There are 77 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Oct. 13, the 286th day of 2021. There are 79 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Oct. 11, the 284th day of 2021. There are 81 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Oct. 9, the 282nd day of 2021. There are 83 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Oct. 8, the 281st day of 2021. There are 84 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Oct. 6, the 279th day of 2021. There are 86 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Oct. 4, the 277th day of 2021. There are 88 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Oct. 2, the 275th day of 2021. There are 90 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Oct. 1, the 274th day of 2021. There are 91 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Sept. 29, the 272nd day of 2021. There are 93 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Sept. 27, the 270th day of 2021. There are 95 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Sept. 25, the 268th day of 2021. There are 97 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Sept. 24, the 267th day of 2021. There are 98 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Sept. 22, the 265th day of 2021. There are 100 days left in the year. Autumn arrives at 3:20 p.m. EDT.

Today is Monday, Sept. 20, the 263rd day of 2021. There are 102 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Sept. 18, the 261st day of 2021. There are 104 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Sept. 17, the 260th day of 2021. There are 105 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Sept. 15, the 258th day of 2021. There are 107 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Sept. 13, the 256th day of 2021. There are 109 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Sept. 11, the 254th day of 2021. There are 111 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Sept. 10, the 253rd day of 2021. There are 112 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Sept. 8, the 251st day of 2021. There are 114 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Sept. 6, the 249th day of 2021. There are 116 days left in the year.

Visitors viewing the Illinois College of Photography exhibit at the Effingham County Museum are well aware there were three buildings associated with the college: Garnet Hall, containing the administration offices and the Retouching Department; Rembrandt Hall, where the laboratories, studios…

Today is Saturday, Sept. 4, the 247th day of 2021. There are 118 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Sept. 3, the 246th day of 2021. There are 119 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Sept. 1, the 244th day of 2021. There are 121 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Aug. 30, the 242nd day of 2021. There are 123 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Aug. 28, the 240th day of 2021. There are 125 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Aug. 27, the 239th day of 2021. There are 126 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Aug. 25, the 237th day of 2021. There are 128 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Aug. 23, the 235th day of 2021. There are 130 days left in the year.

editor's pick featured

I have written extensively about our soldiers we lost in World War II. I have written some about those who died in World War I but I never had a full grasp on how many died in that war.

Today is Saturday, Aug. 21, the 233rd day of 2021. There are 132 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Aug. 20, the 232nd day of 2021. There are 133 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Aug. 18, the 230th day of 2021. There are 135 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Aug. 16, the 228th day of 2021. There are 137 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Aug. 14, the 226th day of 2021. There are 139 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Aug. 13, the 225th day of 2021. There are 140 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Aug. 11, the 223rd day of 2021. There are 142 days left in the year.

This Week's Circulars

Print Edition