Free access to breaking news is sponsored by St Anthony's Hospital

Today is Saturday, March 6, the 65th day of 2021. There are 300 days left in the year.

We're always interested in hearing about news in our community. Let us know what's going on!

Today is Friday, March 5, the 64th day of 2021. There are 301 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, March 3, the 62nd day of 2021. There are 303 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, March 1, the 60th day of 2021. There are 305 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Feb. 27, the 58th day of 2021. There are 307 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Feb. 26, the 57th day of 2021. There are 308 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Feb. 24, the 55th day of 2021. There are 310 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Feb. 22, the 53rd day of 2021. There are 312 days left in the year.

As you pass by cemeteries, you see a variety of shapes and forms of the tombstones (headstones, gravestones). They are usually made of granite or marble. The inscriptions give the names of the deceased, birth and death dates, and sometimes inspirational verses.

Today is Saturday, Feb. 20, the 51st day of 2021. There are 314 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Feb. 19, the 50th day of 2021. There are 315 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Feb. 17, the 48th day of 2021. There are 317 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Feb. 15, the 46th day of 2021. There are 319 days left in the year. This is Presidents Day.

Today is Saturday, Feb. 13, the 44th day of 2021. There are 321 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Feb. 12, the 43rd day of 2021. There are 322 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Feb. 10, the 41st day of 2021. There are 324 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Feb. 8, the 39th day of 2021. There are 326 days left in the year.

The first intensive care unit in Effingham was created in the late 1960s by converting four beds in Rooms 418 and 419 at the far end of the hospital’s long fourth floor hall. A nurse’s desk with a central monitor bank under the north window, and two sets of storage cabinets provided the basi…

Today is Saturday, Feb. 6, the 37th day of 2021. There are 328 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Feb. 5, the 36th day of 2021. There are 329 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Feb. 3, the 34th day of 2021. There are 331 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Feb. 1, the 32nd day of 2021. There are 333 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Jan. 30, the 30th day of 2021. There are 335 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Jan. 29, the 29th day of 2021. There are 336 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Jan. 27, the 27th day of 2021. There are 338 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Jan. 25, the 25th day of 2021. There are 340 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Jan. 23, the 23rd day of 2021. There are 342 days left in the year.

Recently, the Effingham County Museum received an interesting artifact from nearly 75 years ago. The item is a 1947 high school yearbook from Edgewood High School, Edgewood, Illinois, a three-year high school. Toward the front of the book is a statement from the yearbook staff: “We have had …

Today is Friday, Jan. 22, the 22nd day of 2021. There are 343 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Jan. 20, the 20th day of 2021. There are 345 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Jan. 18, the 18th day of 2021. There are 347 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Jan. 16, the 16th day of 2021. There are 349 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Jan. 15, the 15th day of 2021. There are 350 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Jan. 13, the 13th day of 2021. There are 352 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Jan. 9, the ninth day of 2021. There are 356 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Jan. 8, the eighth day of 2021. There are 357 days left in the year.

As vice president of the Effingham County Museum, I’m there a lot. I’ve been a speaker for many of the military programs we’ve had in the past few years. I’ve also been the chair for the Effingham County Old Settlers Reunion for several years.

Today is Wednesday, Jan. 6, the sixth day of 2021. There are 359 days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Jan. 4, the fourth day of 2021. There are 361 days left in the year.

Today is Saturday, Jan. 2, the second day of 2021. There are 363 days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Jan. 1, the first day of 2021. There are 364 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Dec. 30, the 365th day of 2020. There is one day left in the year.

Today is Monday, Dec. 28, the 363rd day of 2020. There are three days left in the year.

When one hears about the Gothic Revival architectural style in America from the 1830s to the 1870s, one might think of some of the grand churches of Europe such as Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris, the Cologne Cathedral in Cologne, Germany, as well as St. Anthony of Paduah in Effingham and St. …

Today is Saturday, Dec. 26, the 361st day of 2020. There are five days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Dec. 23, the 358th day of 2020. There are eight days left in the year.

Today is Monday, Dec. 21, the 356th day of 2020. There are 10 days left in the year. Winter arrives at 5:02 a.m. Eastern time.

Today is Saturday, Dec. 26, the 361st day of 2020. There are five days left in the year.

Today is Friday, Dec. 18, the 353rd day of 2020. There are 13 days left in the year.

Today is Wednesday, Dec. 16, the 351st day of 2020. There are 15 days left in the year.

This Week's Circulars

Print Edition