Effingham Unit 40 School Board adopted a levy Monday representing a 6.15 percent increase over last year.

The estimated $11.3 million levy is based on a 6 percent increase in the district’s Equalized Assessed Valuation (EAV) and is $123,286 more than the 2007 levy. However, Business Director Dean Keller is not sure the district will receive all of the money requested.

“The district would only receive that amount if the EAV actually increases by 6 percent. I do not believe this to be the case. By basing the levy on a 6 percent EAV increase, I believe that the district can collect all the local tax dollars possible,” he said.

Keller said some of the extra money will be used to pay off an early retirement incentive plan the district passed several years ago and to increase money in the TORT Fund to pay for liability insurance premiums in July.

A public truth-in-taxation hearing was held on the matter, but no members of the public addressed the board.

In another matter, the board learned Jumpin’ Jimmys will begin donating one cent per gallon of gas purchased at its locations within the district to Unit 40 beginning Dec. 1.

“They want to get out there and give back to the community,” said Central Grade School Assistant Principal Todd Schuette, adding donations could amount to between $2,000 to $4,000 per month.

Unit 40 officials are not sure what the money will be used for yet, though Jumpin’ Jimmys stipulates the money be used for academics.

In personnel moves, the board hired Becky Cain as Early Learning Center breakfast monitor, Ron White as ELC cafeteria monitor, Trisha Ort as Edgewood cafeteria monitor, Mindy McCollum as junior high eighth-grade volleyball coach and Doris Flowers and Rita Bushue as after-school program bus aides.

Deb Borries, Valerie Broeringmeyer, Margie Borries, Jennifer Castillo, Betty Clow, Mary Dust, Kara Eident, Neil Foor, Micki Hall, Jenni Hanfland, Pat Hernandez, Sherri Hults, Monika Kiefer, Andrea Kinder, Kaleena Knaus, Sharon Knaus, Heidi Lewis, Shanna Lewis, Michelle Michael, Michele Niebrugge, Jeanne Patterson, Sue Pruemer, Jane Ries, Kristin Runde, Cheryl Scanlan, Connie Schimmelpfenning, Janice Thomas, Rita Toops, Rick Walkup, Mary Walters, Nicole Wear-Maloney and Kathy Wormhoudt were hired as after-school program teachers.

Tammy Birch, Peggy Haarmann, Janet Inman, Kim Knierim, Doris Percival, Vickie Schoenhoff, Wayne Stumeier, Dee Willenborg, Russell Phillips, Jackie Smith and Cliff Turner were hired as after-schoool program drivers.

They also released Larissa Brown as ELC cafeteria monitor and granted leaves of absence requests to Becky Cain, East Side music teacher Michele Carruthers and high school cross categorical teacher Elise Hirtzel.


Trending Video

Recommended for you