Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

February 21, 2013

CHBC's Jones makes 2nd straight AP All-State team

Ryan Czachorski
Effingham Daily News

COWDEN — As CHBC prepares for its state semifinal Friday, their center received a huge honor for the second straight year.

Micah Jones was named to the Associated Press' 1-A All-State First Team for the second time in her illustrious career.

Jones received 84 points on the ballot. Joining her on the first team are Illini Bluffs senior Taylor McClintock, Annawan junior Celina VanHyfte, Freeport Anquin senior Sophie Brunner and Goreville senior Alison Webb.

It was Jones' best year of her career at CHBC. She averaged 24 points per game, 16 rebounds per game, five assists and four steals per contest.

At the time of nomination, Jones had totaled 87 double-doubles, nine triple-doubles, scored 2,102 points and grabbed 1,399 rebounds.

When Jones made the squad last season, she totaled 16 points, 12 rebounds and 4.7 assists per contest.

This year, Jones upped her game to counter the loss of four seniors from last year's state runners-up.

As a result, Jones and her fellow Hornets are making another run at the state title after taking down Goreville 70-57 in overtime.

They take on Mount Pulaski Friday at 2 p.m. in Normal. The Hilltoppers have two all-staters of their own; senior guard Jessica Awe made the 1-A second team and senior Andrea Dickinson was named  honorable mention.

The 2-A team was also released, led by Mount Carmel's Tyra Buss in an unanimous selection.

No local players were named to the 2-A team, which is Teutopolis' division.


Name School  Ht. Yr. Pts.

Taylor McClintock  Illini Bluffs   5-11   Sr.   89

Celina VanHyfte    Annawan       6-0    Jr.  89

Sophie Brunner    Aquin             6-1   Sr.  85

Micah Jones         CHBC             6-1   Sr.  84

Allison Webb        Goreville        6-0   Sr.  80


Name School  Ht. Yr. Pts.

Sarah Hansen      Kewanne W'field   5-4   Sr.   65

Jessica Awe         Mount Pulaski   5-3   Sr.   59

Megan Wienstroer  Okawville     5-8   Sr.   58

Morgan Atherton    Century      5-10   Jr.   40

Ashley Schneider    Nokomis      5-9   So.  24

HONORABLE MENTION - Andrea Dickerson (5-10 Sr., Mount Pulaski), Cassie Reiley (5-3 Sr., Prophetstown), Lauren Tollefson (5-5 Sr., Newark), Taylor Roach (5-6 Sr., Tri-Point), Amanda Geiger (6-1 Jr., Centralia Christ Our Rock Lutheran), McKaila Hays (5-7 Jr., Elgin Westminster Christian), Leslie Hardin (5-9 Sr., Madison), Adele Cook (5-2 Sr., Carrollton), Hannah Wallace (5-10 Sr., Brimfield)