Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

September 26, 2012

Local roundup

Effingham Daily News

EFFINGHAM — The St. Anthony boys golf team wrapped up its regular season on Monday by winning the three-team Champaign Invitational at Stone Creek Golf Course.

The Bulldogs, led by an even-par round of 36 by Cole Buehnerkemper, finished with a team score of 160. Bloomington Central Catholic was second at 166, and St Thomas More had 182.

Buehnerkemper’s 36 earned medalist honors, and teammate Joe Powell was second with a 39.

Connor Greene shot a 42, and Garrett Hixenbaugh and Dalton Anderson shot 43 for St. Anthony.

“It’s always nice to end the season on a high note,” St. Anthony coach Phil Zaccari said. “We still need to be more consistent, so we will work on that to be ready for regionals next Tuesday.”

St. Anthony 160, Bloomington Central Catholic 166, St. Thomas More 182

St. Anthony: Joe Powell 39, Garrett Hixenbaugh 43, Dalton Anderson 43, Connor Greene 42, Cole Buehnerkemper 36, Nick Wortman 47.

Bloomington Central Catholic: Eric Gilpin 39, Joe Crawford 42, John Willenborg 44, Zach Jenkins 51, Davis Zangerly 52, Evan Calvert 41.

St. Thomas More: Chris Tate 42, Michael Kehl 48, Jesse Dankle 43, Tyler Vodacek 51, Paul Burton 49, Wes Kramer 49.

Bulldog girls 2nd

Mariah Bushue shot a 41 to miss being medalist by one stroke, and the St. Anthony girls were second among three teams Monday at the Champaign Invitational at Stone Creek.

Normal University, beind medailst Sheinneva Gerongay’s 40, won the team title with a score of 173. The Bulldogs finished at 182, and St. Thomas More was third with 230.

Miranda Rohlfing shot 42 and tied for third in the individual standings.

Normal University 173, St. Anthony 182, St. Thomas More 230.

Normal University: Sheinneva Gerongay 40, Sarah Lyman 43, August Will 42, Sydney Kneller 54, Emma Stroyan 62, Hannah Schueler 48.

St. Anthony: Miranda Rohlfing 42, Emmie Schultz 50, Madison Bushue 49, Mariah Bushue 41, Kyla Burton 56, Sara Ragland 62.

St. Thomas More: Caroline Dodds 52, Briana Davisson 54, Taylor During 55, Sami Floyd 65, Allie Wagner 68.

Newton 5th, Cumberland 8th in LIC

Newton finished in fifth place, and Cumberland was eighth in the 10-team Little Illini Conference tournament Monday at Oak Glen Golf Course in Oblong.

Olney won the title with a team score of 324, followed by Robinson (329), Casey-Westfield (337), Lawrenceville (366), Newton (374), Flora (380), Marshall (392), Cumberland (421), Red Hill (427) and Palestine (493).

Edwards County and Oblong did not field teams.

Chris Lee of Casey-Westfield was the individual medalist with a 3-over 74.

Phil Blank shot 87 to lead Newton, and Evan Brooks and Chris Brody had 93.

Caleb Brumleve shot 103 to pace Cumberland.

Newton: Phil Blank 44-43—87; Evan Brooks 48-45—93; Elijah Knepper 56-49—105; Brandon Bigard 57-47—104; Chris Brody 44-49—93; Anthony Fuesting 49-52—101.

Cumberland:Trevor Brumleve 56-49—105; Austin Light 57-57—114; Caleb Brumleve 52-52—104; T.J. Thomas 54-52—106; Dawson Cross 55-51—106; Patrick Utler 55-56—111.

Shoes top Sullivan

Justin Kowalski shot a 41 to earn medalist honors and led Teutopolis to a 177-217 victory over Sullivan Monday at Effingham Country Club.

Ross Sheehan had a 43, Evan Schink shot 46, and Ryan Sandschafer had a 47 for Teutopolis.

The Wooden Shoes also won the junior varsity match, 239-240.

Kyle Brumleve shot 57 to lead Teutopolis.

Teutopolis 177, Sullivan 217

Teutopolis: Ross Sheehan 43, Ryan Sandschafer 47, Justin Kowalski 41, Evan Schink 46, Karson Pruemer 51, Matt Grunloh 57.

Sullivan: Lucas Mossman 50, Kent Taber 55, Derek Stain 58, Jacob Piper 54, Sam Mulligan 63, Austin Saghell 60.


Hearts erupt for 8 goals

Matt Steffen, Jason Pike and Ivan Carrillo each scored two goals, and the Effingham soccer team improved to 10-2-1 by blasting visiting Lebanon 8-1 Monday night.

Carrillo scored both of his goals as the Hearts built a 4-0 halftime lead. Kohdai Nishida and Steffen also scored in the first half, and Pike and Calen Gadberry assisted on the Carrillo goals.

Pike scored both of his goals in the second half, and Steffen and Austin Wenthe also found the back of the net. Gadberry had two assists, and Carrillo and Kyle Lustig one in the second half.

Dalton Steele made three saves for the Hearts, who out-shot Lebanon 14-4.


First Half

E — Kohdai Nishida, 36:24.

E — Ivan Carrillo (Caleb Gadberry), 30:55.

E — Ivan Carrillo (Jason Pike), 28:46.

E — Matt Steffen, 6:40.

Second Half

E — Matt Steffen (Caleb Gadberry), 34:00.

E — Jason Pike (Caleb Gadberry), 30:33.

L — Nick Utley, 24:19.

E — Jason Pike (Ivan Carrillo), 22:59.

E — Austin Wenthe (Kyle Lustig), 7:56.


Hearts’ JV 4-0 after shutout win

Four turnovers and a blocked extra-point kick highlighted the defensive effort, and Kevin Daugherty accounted for four touchdowns as the Effingham junior varisty football team improved to 4-0 with a 24-6 victory over Salem Monday night.

Jordan Coleman, Alec Stevenson and matt Wohltman had pass interceptions, and Joe Nieman had a fumble recovery. Andy Lustig had a team-high nine tackles for the Hearts, and Brandon Loy had eight.

Daugherty scored on an 11-yard run to give Effingham a 6-0 lead in the first quarter. Before halftime, Daugherty scord again on a 7-yard run and also threw a 34-yard touchdown pass to Payton Bushue, and the Hearts led 18-6 at halftime.

Daugherty’s 71-yard touchdown pass to Trent Barnhart was the only scoring in the second half.

Hearts 24, Wildcats 6

Salem    0    6    0    0    —    6

Effingham    6    12    0    6    —    24

Rushing: Daugherty 10-5, 2 TDs; Tyler Myers 3-23, Tritt Rush 3-23; Trent Barnhart 3-(minus-10); Kayne Verdeyen 1-2; Avery Brooks 2-(minus-7).

Passing: Daugherty 10-21-257, 2 TDs, 1 INT.

Receiving: Tyler Myers 1-4; Tritt Rush 2-35; Trent Barnhart 1-71, TD; Dylan Wolfe 2-56; Payton Bushue 1-34, TD; Matt Wohltman 2-46; Noah Lohman 1-15.

Tackles: (assist-solo-total): Trent Barnhart 3-1-4; Wyatt Kahley 1-4-5; Tritt Rush 0-6-6; Brandon Loy 2-6-8; Andy Lustig 1-8-9; Noah Hagen 2-1-3; Alec Stevenson 1-6-7; Matt Wohltman 1-2-3; Jordan Coleman 0-2-2; Blake Marxman 1-2-3; Blaine Koester 0-1-1; Dalton Beam 1-0-1; Nick Burger 4-0-4; Kayne Verdeyen 1-0-1; Joe Nieman 2-1-3; Dylan Depoister 1-0-1; Jeff Beasley 2-0-2; Trevor Coleclasure 0-1-1; Andy Feiltz 1-0-1.