Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

February 28, 2014

Teutopolis' Hartke named first-team All-State

Ryan Czachorski
Effingham Daily News

TEUTOPOLIS — Just a day before she plays in her first-ever game at the Class 2A state tournament, Teutopolis' Madeline Hartke was named to the Associated Press' Class 2A All-State team.

Hartke received the fourth-most points of any player, making the team with 72 points, two ahead of Friday's foe Tori McCoy from Champaign St. Thomas More.

The rest of the first team is comprised of Mt. Carmel's Tyra Buss, who was selected unanimously, Wateka's Devin Curry and Oregon's Samantha Lambrigtsen.

The Teutopolis senior averaged 12.6 points and 5.2 rebounds on the season, but was the driving force for the 28-5 Shoes on offense and defense, and her averages beget the Shoes' style of play: deliberate and defensively-focused.

The second-team was made up of Byron's Ellie Lehne, Carterville's Sidney Smith, St. Thomas More's Lexi Wallen, Breese Central's Maddie Timmermann and El-Paso-Gridley's Rebekah Ehresman.

In addition to McCoy and Wallen, Randa Harshbarger was named honorable mention for St. Thomas More. Hartke was the only Shoe to receive votes.

The Class 1A team was also released, but no local player received consideration.



Tyra Buss, Mt. Carmel, 5-7, Sr., 115 (unanimous)

Devin Curry, Watseka, 5-6, Sr., 79

Samantha Lambrigtsen, Oregon, 5-7, Sr., 79

Madeline Hartke, Teutopolis, 5-9, Sr., 72

Tori McCoy, Champaign St. Thomas More, 6-4, So., 70


Ellie Lehne, Byron, 6-2, Jr., 70

Sidney Smith, Carterville, 5-8, Sr., 68

Lexi Wallen, Champaign St. Thomas More, 6-0, Jr., 60

Maddie Timmermann, Breese Central, 5-10, Sr., 60

Rebekah Ehresman, El Paso-Gridley, 5-6, Sr., 50

HONORABLE MENTION (IN ORDER OF POINT TOTALS) - Kendra Wilken (Breese Central, 6-1 So.), Jordi Harre (Nashville, 5-6 Jr.), Riley Strandgard (Sherrard, 5-10 Sr.), Ali Ringering (Red Bud, 5-8 Sr.), Randa Harshbarger (Champaign St. Thomas More, 5-5 Sr.), Molly McGraw (Bloomington Central Catholic, 5-8 Sr.), Carlie Cuffle (Riverton, 5-11 Sr.), Corrie Reiley (Prophetstown, 5-2 Jr.), Torre Kohrmann (Breese Central, 5-6 Sr.), Madison Greeling (Piasa SW, 5-6 So.), Ashley Ferrell (Harrisburg, 5-5 Sr.), Clare Kramer (Prophetstown, 5-8 Jr.), Caitlyn Welch (Reed-Custer, 5-8 Sr.).

Note: In Class 2A, McCoy was awarded first team over Lehne based on more first-team votes.



Celina Van Hyfte, Annawan, 6-0, Sr., 115 (unanimous)

Morgan Atherton, Century, 5-10, Sr., 91

Ryan Dooley, Central A&M, 5-6, So., 88

Lexis Macomber, Lanark Eastland, 6-0, Jr., 87

Ashley Schneider, Nokomis, 5-10, Jr., 85


Cierra Davis, Annawan, 5-9, Sr., 84

Haley Darnell, Goreville, 5-6, Sr., 81

Grace Baalman, Hardin-Calhoun, 6-2, Fr., 52

Jaycee Cleaver, Dakota, 5-7, Jr., 47

Addison Stoller, Cissna Park, 5-10, So., 41

HONORABLE MENTION (IN ORDER OF POINT TOTALS) - Megan Foes (Annawan, 5-8 Sr.), Allison Prestegaard (Ashton-Franklin Center, 6-3 Jr.), Megan Sullivan (Arlington Heights Christian Liberty, 5-5 Sr.), Taylor Edwards (Arcola, 5-8 Jr.), Kristen Parsons (Wethersfield, 5-4 Sr.), Kylee Knox (Elgin Harvest Christian Academy, 5-6 Jr.), Danielle Pavlovich (Granville Putnam County, 5-5 Sr.), Jeslyn Roat (Springfield Lutheran, 5-10 Sr.), Dani Lee (Pearl City, 6-0 Jr.), Rachel Colbert (Erie, 5-10 So.), Rachel Williams (Carrollton, 5-11 Jr.), Alina Lance (New Athens, 5-7 So.), Emma Baalman (Hardin-Calhoun, 6-1 So.).