Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

November 21, 2013

Mathis earns NTC MVP honors

Second straight for St. A senior

Ryan Czachorski
Effingham Daily News

EFFINGHAM — St. Anthony volleyball coach Kristie Bailey had nothing but the highest praise for senior setter/hitter Haylee Mathis Wednesday.

“I think she’s the best player in the area, I would think all the coaches in the area would agree,” Bailey said.

The area’s National Trail Conference coaches did agree, as Mathis was named the conference’s MVP for the second year running this week.

Mathis switched from full-time setting to splitting time between setting and hitting midway through the season, and helped St. Anthony advance to Super Sectionals.

“She’s a big reason why we went so far this year,” Bailey said. “She’s just a great player and a wonderful kid too. She’s made so many wonderful decisions with volleyball, and she deserves that honor.”

Two-way players dominatesd the first team. Mathis was joined by teammates Megan Nuxoll and Rachel Schultz, along with Stew-Stras’ Kendall Knop and Becca Schlechte, fresh off a second-place finish in the state.

Altamont’s Lauren White, Neoga’s Demmie Long and St. Elmo/Brownstown’s Gabi Moore rounded out the first team.

Stew-Stras earned another player on the second team with hitter Brittani Tabbert. Neoga’s Courtney Croy and Olivia Ott made the second team, along with Altamont’s Deidre Ledbetter, St. Anthony’s Lauren Wendt, South Central’s Lincoln Brasel and Windsor’s Paige Woolard and Autumn Bennett.

Cowden-Herrick earned three honorable mentions, doled out to Ariel Heiserman, Haven Lorton and Hannah Wehrle. Beecher City’s Kristen Buzzard, Dieterich’s Madison Boerngen and Mallorie Vahling, Altamont’s Macy Wendling, St. Elmo/Brownstown’s Behtany Oberlink, South Central’s Maria Brasel and Windsor’s Olivia Williamson rounded out the conference’s honorable mentions.

Stew-Stras had the most successful season of the NTC teams, and area teams, taking second in the state. St. Anthony won the conference tournament and advanced to Super Sectionals, and South Central brought home a Regional Crown as well.

First team

Haylee Mathis, St. Anthony, MVP

Kendall Knop, Stewardson-Strasburg

Lauren White, Altamont

Demmie Long, Neoga

Megan Nuxoll, St. Anthony

Rachel Schultz, St. Anthony

Becca Schlechte, Stewardson-Strasburg

Gabi Moore, St. Elmo/Brownstown

Second team

Paige Woolard, Windsor

Autumn Bennett, Windsor

Courtney Croy, Neoga

Olivia Ott, Neoga

Lincoln Brasel, South Central

Brittani Tabbert, Stewardson-Strasburg

Lauren Wendt, St. Anthony

Deidre Ledbetter, Altamont

Honorable mention

Macy Wendling, Altamont

Kirsten Buzzard, Beecher City

Ariel Heiserman, Cowden-Herrick

Haven Lorton, Cowden-Herrick

Hannah Wehrle, Cowden-Herrick

Madison Boerngen, Dieterich

Mallorie Vahling, Dieterich

Bethany Oberlink, St. Elmo/Brownstown

Maria Brasel, South Central

Olivia Williamson, Windsor