Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

April 10, 2013

Incumbents don't do as well in village races

Bill Grimes
Daily News

---- — Teutopolis Unit 50 Board of Education President Marty Siemer won a fourth term in Tuesday's consolidated election.

Siemer finished with 1,008 votes to top a four-person field that included fellow board member Carl Repking, who finished second with 949 votes.

Political newcomer Daniel Burke won the third available seat on the board, besting former Unit 50 Superintendent Fran Thoele.

Siemer said he was gratified to have the opportunity to serve another term.

"We had four quality candidates, so I'm honored to be one of those elected," he said. "It's truly a privilege to serve such a wonderful community."

In the Altamont Unit 10 race, longtime Effingham County sheriff's deputy Darren Feldkamp was the top vote-getter with 575 votes. Board president Jim Holland and challenger Rodney Schultz also won election at the expense of incumbent Chad Smith and challenger Stacy Alwardt.

In Beecher City Unit 20, Darren Doty, Jeff Kline and Glenna Gordon won the three available seats. Jacqueline Stoldt finished fourth.

Dieterich Unit 30 board President Mike Winters was the only candidate to seek election in his race. That means the board will have to appoint two new members at its reorganizational meeting early next month.

In municipal races, it wasn't necessarily a good day to be an incumbent. Dieterich village trustee Brad Hardiek easily outdistanced incumbent Village President Burl Griffith, 165-65, to deny Griffith another term.

Another longtime village president won't be in office, as well. Longtime Montrose Village President Dennis Fletcher lost his bid to serve as a trustee. Instead, Montrose voters elected incumbents Derek Schorman, Eric Esker and Bill Kingery.

Former trustee Carolyn Jansen was unopposed in her bid to be Montrose village president.

The only other contested municipal races were in Mason, where incumbent Mayor Sandy Henderson held off challenger Shane Monnet, 54-39. Brenda Byers, Donald Flowers and Vivian Cain were elected to the town board.

Mason is the only area community that is officially a town under Illinois state law. Other area municipalities are either cities or villages.

Bill Grimes can be reached at 217-347-7151, ext. 132, or bill.grimes@effinghamdailynews.com.