Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

December 10, 2013

Sheriff candidates draw for ballot order

Tony Huffman
Effingham Daily News

EFFINGHAM — Effingham County Sheriff's Deputy Darren Feldkamp drew the No. 1 slot out of a bowl provided by County Clerk Kerry Hirtzel at the Effingham County Office Building Tuesday morning. The lottery was to determine the order in which names will appear on the March 18 ballot for Effingham County sheriff after all four Republican candidates filed simultaneously on the first day of filing.

Feldkamp's name will appear first, followed by retired Illinois State Police Trooper John A. Gardner, retired ISP Trooper Dave Mahon and Effingham Police Chief Mike Schutzbach. Effingham County Sheriff John Monnet is not running for re-election, as he is retiring.

While Feldkamp says he is "humbled" by appearing first on the ballot, he hopes voters will elect a sheriff on merit rather than placement on a ballot.