Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

April 11, 2013

Seats still open following election

Bill Grimes Daily News
Effingham Daily News

---- — While scores of candidates sought political office in Tuesday’s consolidated election, some entities didn’t draw enough candidates to fill their open seats.

In Dieterich, Unit 30 Board of Education President Mike Winters was the only incumbent to seek another term on his board. Not only did the two other incumbents opt against seeking another term, but nobody from the community filed for the resultant two open seats.

Consequently, the school district is seeking candidates to fill those seats. Unit 30 Superintendent Cary Jackson said interested citizens must file a letter of interest by April 26 to be considered for appointment at the May 7 board meeting.

Letters may be sent to 205 S. Pine, Dieterich, IL 62424, in care of Mike Winters.

Shumway is another community that is going to be looking for two trustees to join Darren Klepzig, the lone candidate on Tuesday’s ballot. Village officials were unavailable for comment Wednesday.

Union Township will also be seeking a trustee after only three candidates ran for four seats Tuesday.

While nobody was on the ballot in the Shumway Fire Protection District board, there were 78 write-in votes. The top two write-in candidates will be seated on the new board.

While voters did show up at the polls Tuesday, turnout varied wildly throughout Effingham County, ranging from a whopping 56.92 percent in West Township to 7.08 percent in Douglas Township Precinct 9.

Other precincts with turnouts well over the county average of 20.84 percent included St. Francis, 39.09 percent; Moccasin, 36.31; Douglas 1 (Green Creek), 35.95; and Mason, 34.88. The common thread in all these precincts appears to be contested races.

On the other hand, precincts with few local races of interest had voter turnout significantly less than the county average. None of the four Summit Township precincts near Lake Sara boasted a turnout of more than 12.39 percent. Other precincts with relatively low turnouts included Union, Lucas and Jackson, all of which had turnouts under 14 percent.

There were a number of contested township races outside Douglas Township. In West Township, Democrat Dennis Vaughn won a three-way highway commissioner race that was marred by the March 1 death of Republican incumbent Tom Fitzwilliam, who still got 23 votes Tuesday to 120 for Vaughn and 41 for independent Greg Beccue.

Democrat Mark Holland and Republicans Iris Ashbaugh, Wendell Alwardt and Michael Runge won a six-way race for West Township trustee.

Here are results from contested races in other Effingham County townships, with Republican, Democrat and independent noted by R,D, and I, respectively. Four trustee seats were up for election in each township:

Mound: Highway Commissioner, Allen Schultz (R), 336; Zaelon “Zig” Rohwedder (I), 142.

Moccasin: Highway Commissioner, Douglas Hammer (R), 94, and Eric Dial (D), 35; Trustee: Leo Stuckemeyer (R) 91, Daron Stuckemeyer (R) 87, Willard Kopplin (R) 72, James B. Tipsword (D) 69, William Tim Trigleth (R) 68, Danny Simmons (D) 49.

Mason: Highway Commissioner: Howard K. Cain (D) 136, Ivan Higgs (I) 101, Dale K. Bushue (R) 66; Trustee: Calvin C. McGuire (D) 182, Lee C. Sims (D) 175, Leonard “Lonnie” Jansen (R) 158, Timothy N. Forehand (D) 134, Karen Beccue (R) 129, Morris Suckow (D) 107, Larry Wildbur (R) 105.

Watson: Highway Commissioner: Stephen Bergfeld (R) 338, Curt Harrington (D) 78.

Teutopolis: Highway Commissioner: Tom Rauch (R) 441, Michael Kreke (D) 129. Trustee: Lawrence Funneman (R) 368, Charles R. Semple (R) 350, John Kremer (D) 296, Roy Weber (R) 240, Corey Dasenbrock (R) 216, Lawrence Koester (D) 208, Janet Buenker (D) 205, Philip Wendt (D) 154.

St. Francis: Highway Commissioner: Maurus Schumacher (R) 149, Carl C. Deters (D) 113, Jermika “Mike” Wohltman (I) 70. Trustee: Joseph E. Thoele (R) 282, Christopher Hartke (D) 223, Bernard Vahling (R) 220, John W. Miller (D) 186, Richard “Dick” Kreke 99.

Bill Grimes can be reached at 217-347-7151, ext. 132, or bill.grimes@effinghamdailynews.com.