Effingham Daily News, Effingham, IL

December 27, 2012

Unit 40 Board, park district seat filings begin

Bill Grimes
Effingham Daily News

EFFINGHAM —     Seven people have filed for three seats on the Effingham Unit 40 Board of Education during the filing period that ended Wednesday.

    Incumbents Galen Altman and Brian Wick both filed for re-election, but they will have plenty of company on the ballot.

    James Osborn is joining Altman and Wick as the only Summit Township residents on the ballot. However, state school board laws dictate that only two can be seated on the board, no matter how they do in the overall race. That’s because only three board members can reside in any one township. Because board president Delbert Soltwedel already represents Summit Township, only two of the three candidates from that township can win in the April 2 consolidated election.

    There’s no shortage of candidates from the Douglas Township portion of the district. While incumbent Brad Meinhart is not seeking another term, newcomers Steven Bone, James Keith, K.L. Cleeton and Laurie King are seeking board seats.

    Only two of the Douglas Township candidates can be seated on the board, because of the continued presence of Douglas resident Todd Schaefer on the board.

    Ballot placement wasn’t expected to be determined until sometime today, when Altman, Bone and Keith will participate in a lottery to determine the coveted top name on the ballot. All three men filed their nominating petitions at 8 a.m. sharp on Dec. 17.

    Osborn filed in the late morning of Dec. 17, while Cleeton filed the next day. Wick and King both filed Dec. 21.

    In other local filings, there won’t be a contested race for the Effingham Park District board. Only incumbent Dennis Carie and newcomer Chris Huelsbusch filed petitions.

    Longtime incumbent Mike Sehy opted not to seek another term.